Skip to main content
Honors and Awards

Sciences Faculty, Staff Receive 2021-22 University Honors

Memorial Belltower

Seven members of the College of Sciences community, along with one student organization, were recently recognized with 2021-22 NC State teaching, diversity and excellence awards.

Laura Clarke, an Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor in the Department of Physics, was named NC State’s recipient of the 2022 Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award, which recognizes and encourages outstanding teaching within the University of North Carolina System, is awarded to one faculty member from each of the UNC System institutions each year.

Meghan Kerr, director of research administration for the college, and Ashley Ricks, human resources partner in the Department of Physics, were recognized as the college’s winners of Awards for Excellence, NC State’s highest honors for non-faculty employees. They will be honored at a university-level awards ceremony with the other 2022 unit winners.

Meghan Kerr (left) and Ashley Ricks were recognized as the college’s winners of NC State’s Awards for Excellence.

Drexel Professor of Mathematics Alun Lloyd and Alexander Kemper, associate professor of physics, won the Alumni Association Outstanding Teacher Award. The award recognizes excellence in teaching at all levels. Recipients of this award become members of the Academy of Outstanding Teachers for as long as they remain on the NC State faculty.

Herle McGowan, associate teaching professor of statistics, won the Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor Award. The award is sponsored by the Alumni Association and is among the most prestigious undergraduate awards on campus. Recipients retain their title for the duration as an NC State faculty member.

Gail McLaughlin, Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Physics, will be inducted into the Research Leadership Academy. McLaughlin is one of the four previous Outstanding Research Award recipients — along with the six 2022 awardees – that will be inducted.

The Chemistry Graduate Student Association won the Chancellor’s Creating Community Award for Outstanding Student Organization, which recognizes a student organization that has incorporated diversity, equity and inclusion efforts to achieve its goals.