Skip to main content
Faculty and Staff

Sciences Staff Honored with Awards for Excellence

Wall Crumpler and LaShanda Morgan
Wall Crumpler (left) and LaShanda Morgan were honored with Awards for Excellence on April 17.

Eleven College of Sciences staff members were honored for their outstanding work at the college’s Awards for Excellence event on April 17. The awards are NC State’s most prestigious honor for non-faculty employees. See photos from the event.

The three EHRA nominees and eight SHRA nominees were recognized in one of seven categories: Customer Service, Efficiency and Innovation, Safety and Heroism, Human Relations, Outstanding State Government Service, Public Service and the Spirit of North Carolina.

The college’s EHRA winner was Wall Crumpler, facilities manager in the Department of Biological Sciences. The SHRA winner was LaShanda Morgan, human resources consultant for the College Human Resources Office. Each will receive receive eight hours of paid time off and a $250 award. 

Crumpler and Morgan will be also honored at the University Awards for Excellence ceremony in June where they and other college and unit winners can receive special distinction as recipients of the NC State University Awards for Excellence. The university recipients are submitted for consideration for the Governor’s Awards for Excellence, which is the highest honor awarded to a state employee.

EHRA Nominees

Wall Crumpler, Biological Sciences (winner)
Vince Sisneros, Life Sciences First Year Program
Ann Zhang, College Research Office

SHRA Nominees

Rhonda Bennett, Physics
Matthew Brooks, Biological Sciences
Terry Byron, Sciences IT
Christopher Hewett, Physics
Freha Legoas, Biological Sciences
Catherine Lull, Chemistry
LaShanda Morgan, College Human Resources Office (winner)
Hakan Sungur, Biological Sciences