Skip to main content


A picture of the 2024 Award for Excellence winners.

Jun 18, 2024

Meet the 2024 Award for Excellence Winners

NC State honored Wall Crumpler, teaching technician in the Department of Biological Sciences, with an Award for Excellence.

Wall Crumpler and LaShanda Morgan

Apr 18, 2024

Sciences Staff Honored with Awards for Excellence

Eleven College of Sciences staff members were honored for their outstanding work at the college's Awards for Excellence event on April 17.

Lewis Owen stands along Stinson Drive on the NC State campus

Sep 8, 2023

Diving Into the Deanship

New dean Lewis Owen, a scuba-diving geologist, wants to build a stronger College of Sciences community and help students pursue their dreams anywhere in the world.

NC State Belltower lit red

Jun 20, 2023

Porch Wins University Award for Excellence

Alan Porch, the business officer in the Department of Mathematics, was one of 12 NC State employees who received a 2023 NC State University Award for Excellence.

Dean and Gail Bunce pose with Mr. Wuf

Mar 27, 2023

College Raises More Than $1.5 Million on NC State’s Day of Giving

Generous donors showed their support for the college’s people and programs on NC State's fifth annual Day of Giving.

View through the trees of Centennial Campus

Feb 1, 2023

LSFY Director Wins 2022-23 Undergraduate Academic Advising Award

Erica Kosal, director of the Life Sciences First Year Program, won the Carrie McLean Award.

Garrett Briggs poses with a colleague

Jan 12, 2023

Former PAMS Dean Passes Away at 88

Garrett Briggs, the second dean of the former College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, which became the College of Sciences in 2013, passed away on Dec. 31, 2022.

The NC State Belltower on main campus.

Dec 14, 2022

Amanda Savas Named Assistant Dean for Finance and Business Management

Savas serves as the lead financial officer for the college with responsibilities for ensuring financial integrity, operational efficiency and compliance.

Michelle Benigno

Nov 7, 2022

Science House Mountain Satellite Office Director Wins North Carolina Science Teachers Association Award

Michelle Benigno, director of The Science House Mountain Satellite Office, has won the 2022 NCSTA Vi Hunsucker Award.

James A. Banks and Joann Blumenfeld

Sep 12, 2022

Catalyst’s Joann Blumenfeld Receives 2022 Friday Medal

Joann Blumenfeld, program director for Catalyst, was selected as one of the recipients of the 2022 Friday Medal award.