Skip to main content

Sciences Faculty Recognized at Celebration of Faculty Excellence

The red belltower looms over campus.

NC State recognized more than 30 faculty members, including fourĀ from the College of Sciences, for their dedication to teaching, research and engagement during the 2019 Celebration of Faculty Excellence on May 1.

The annual event honors faculty who have won prestigious state, national and international awards and created new knowledge and advancements in their respective disciplines.

The following Sciences faculty were honored during the ceremony:

  • David Papp and Arvind K. Saibaba, both assistant professors in the Department of Mathematics, were honored for receiving National Science Foundation Early Career Development (NSF CAREER) Awards, one of NSF’s highest awards for young science faculty.
  • Ilse C.F. Ipsen, professor of mathematics, and C.T. (Tim) Kelley, Drexel Professor of Mathematics, were honored for being named American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows.

(Recent Fulbright Scholar Award winner Maria Oliver-Hoyo and NSF CAREER Award winner Wei-chen Chang, both of the Department of Chemistry, will be honored at next year’s ceremony.)

2019 marks the eighth year of the Celebration of Faculty Excellence. In recognition of all honored faculty, the university lit the Memorial Belltower red on May 8.