Skip to main content
Alumni & Friends

Four Sciences Faculty Recognized at Celebration of Faculty Excellence

Memorial Belltower

NC State recognized 29 faculty members, including four from the College of Sciences, for their dedication to teaching, research and engagement during the 2021 Celebration of Faculty Excellence on May 4. 

The annual event, held virtually this year, honors faculty who have received prestigious state, national and international awards, accolades or other distinctions during the previous year.

The following Sciences faculty were honored during the ceremony:

  • Phil Castellano, Goodnight Innovation Distinguished Chair in the Department of Chemistry; Lewis Owen, professor and head of the Department of Marine, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences; and Brian Space, professor in the Department of Chemistry, were honored for being elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world’s largest scientific society and publisher of the journal Science
  • Dali Sun, assistant professor in the Department of Physics, was awarded the Department of Energy Early Career Research Award. The award, which is granted by the US Department of Energy, is dedicated to supporting the research of scientists early in their careers.

2021 marks the tenth year of the Celebration of Faculty Excellence. In recognition of all honored faculty, the university will light the Memorial Belltower red from 7:30-9 p.m. on May 18.