Skip to main content

100 Years of NC State Physics

NC State Physics 100th anniversary Play Video

On November 3-4, NC State’s Department of Physics celebrated its 100th anniversary with a fun weekend of family-friendly activities, talks, tours and demonstrations.

The celebration honored a century of rich history, as well as showing off the department’s bright future. Explore 100 years of physics at NC State.

  • 1884: First physics professor hired at NC State
  • 1917: Physics becomes an independent department
  • 1953: First nuclear reactor in an academic setting is completed on NC State’s campus
  • 1965: NC State joins the newly formed Triangle Universities Nuclear Laboratory
  • 1990: President George H.W. Bush visits the lab of Jan Schetzina
  • 1991: The Science House K-12 outreach program is founded, with physics professor David Haase as its first director
  • 2003: WebAssign, created by physics professor John Risley, becomes the first major startup to come out of the department
  • 2006: The department begins moving into its newly renovated home in Riddick Hall
  • 2017: Department celebrates its 100th anniversary

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.