Skip to main content

Two NC State Faculty Named AAAS Fellows

John Blondin
John Blondin

Two North Carolina State University faculty members have been elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

John Michael Blondin, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor of Physics and associate dean for research in the College of Sciences, elected for distinguished contributions to astrophysics and physics education, particularly in supernovae and supernova remnants.

Anastasios Tsiatis
Anastasios Tsiatis

Anastasios A. Tsiatis, Gertrude M. Cox Professor of Statistics, elected for distinguished contributions to survival analysis, statistical methods for clinical trials, causal inference and the broad fields of semiparametric models and dynamic treatment regimes.

They are among 391 scientists to be honored this year by AAAS, the world’s largest scientific society and the publisher of the journal Science.

Each year, the AAAS Council – the policymaking body of the society – elects members who have shown “scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.” Fellows are nominated by their peers and undergo an extensive review process.

The two NC State fellows will be recognized at the AAAS annual meeting in Boston, Massachusetts, in February.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.