Skip to main content

Sciences Faculty and Student Honored for Commitment to International Education

2019 Global Engagement Expo award winners

The Office of Global Engagement hosted the 2019 Global Engagement Exposition on April 23, celebrating the international excellence of NC State faculty, staff and students.

Bailian Li, senior vice provost for Global Engagement, provided an overview of the office’s accomplishments over the past year. Ingrid Schmidt, associate vice provost for external relations and development, and Steven Bergman, director of sponsored student programs, presented the Leadership in International Education, Outstanding Global Engagement and Jackson Rigney International Service Awards, along with the Jackson Rigney Study Abroad Scholarships. Poster presentations by faculty, staff and students, covering various topics in international education, research and service, were also included in the event.

Award nominees and recipients included the following:

Leadership in International Education Recognition

The Office of Global Engagement selects recipients for this special recognition in three different categories: Study Abroad, Student Success, and Outreach and Extension. Selected recipients demonstrate outstanding contributions toward the internationalization of NC State. The honorees were:

Outstanding Global Engagement Award

This award encourages and recognizes outstanding accomplishment in globally engaged teaching, research, extension and/or engagement and economic development. The recipients are determined by the International Operations Council. The nominees for this award were:

  • Gary Blank, associate and Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources
  • K.C. Busch, assistant professor, Department of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Education
  • Jason Delborne, associate professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources
  • Reza Ghiladi, associate professor, Department of Chemistry
  • Andrew Grieshop, associate professor, Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
  • Keith Gubbins, W.H. Clark Distinguished University Professor, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Helmut Hergeth, associate professor, Department of Textile and Apparel Technology and Management
  • David Marshall, professor, Department of Plant Pathology
  • Kevin Oliver, professor, Department of Teacher Education and Learning Sciences
  • Jean Ristaino, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor, Department of Plant Pathology
  • Ann Ross, professor, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Andrew Stringer, clinical assistant professor, director, global health education, Department of Population Health and Pathobiology
  • Leo Villa-Garcia, lecturer, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures
  • Yingjiao Xu, associate department head, director of graduate programs, associate professor, Department of Textile and Apparel Technology and Management

Gary Blank, Keith Gubbins and Jean Ristaino were selected as the recipients of this award.

Jackson Rigney International Service Award

This award recognizes the distinguished contributions of a faculty or staff member for the promotion of international understanding and service to the university and/or to the international community over the course of their career. The recipient is determined by the Committee on International Programs. The nominees were:

  • Abhinav Gupta, professor, Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
  • Cathrine Hoyo, associate professor, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Akram Khater, Kayrallah Distinguished Professor in Lebanese Diaspora Studies, Department of History
  • Bob Patterson, Alumni Distinguished Professor, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences
  • Siu Man “Raymond” Ting, professor, Department of Educational Leadership, Policy and Human Development

Bob Patterson, who recently celebrated 50 years of service to NC State, was selected as the winner of this award.

The Jackson Rigney Study Abroad Scholarship

These awards recognize students for academic achievement. Recipients demonstrate an ability to serve as ambassadors abroad and to positively impact NC State upon their return. The student honorees were:

  • Lauren Bartek, studying civil engineering, attending Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • Cheyana Bassham, studying fisheries, wildlife and conservation biology, attending SFS Center for Wildlife Management Studies, Tanzania
  • Natalie Leger, studying biological sciences, attending the University of Copenhagen, Denmark

This post was originally published in Office of Global Engagement.