Skip to main content
Honors and Awards

College Honors Students, Alumni, Staff at Annual Diversity Celebration

Jada McKinney and Arana Blake at the 2023 Sciences Diversity Banquet.
Undergraduate students Jada McKinney and Arana Blake won the Dependability Award at the 2023 Sciences Diversity Awards celebration.

On March 25, the College of Sciences held the 38th annual Sciences Diversity Awards celebration to honor students from backgrounds underrepresented in the sciences, as well as graduating students, faculty and staff who have been involved in diversity initiatives and inclusion efforts across campus. 

The theme for this year’s Sciences Diversity Awards was “Still I Rise,” a celebration of the graduates’ resilience and determination. Photos from the event can be viewed on Facebook

The event is organized by the college’s Office of Inclusive Excellence and the Society for Multicultural Scientists (SMS). The award recipients are listed below.

SMS Outstanding Member of the Year: Aarick Lilly and Jada McKinney 

Family First Award: Sheridan Smith 

Dr. Lawrence Clark Leadership Award: Arana Blake 

Dr. Marjorie Debnam Community Service Award: Nnamdi Osakwe

Dependability Award: Jada McKinney and Arana Blake

Advocate Award: Shaefny Grays, interim director of Community for Diversity at the College of Natural Resources 

Distinguished Alumni Award: Richmond Hill, provost for Northern Virginia Community College’s Woodbridge Campus

Honored Graduates (students graduating in Spring 2023 or Fall 2023)

  • Arana Blake (Chemistry, B.A.)
  • Eleah Dunbar (Biological Sciences, B.S.)
  • Colette Graham (Biological Sciences, B.S.)
  • Ruth Hailemichael (Microbiology, B.S.)
  • Tyree Harris (Biology, M.S.)
  • Elliott Holliday (Physics, Ph.D.)
  • Kianna Jimenez (Chemistry, Ph.D.)
  • Victoria Magana Granados (Biological Sciences, B.S.)
  • Nnamdi Osakwe (Bioinformatics, Ph.D.)
  • Olivia Smith (Biological Sciences,  B.S.)
  • Sheridan Smith (Biological Sciences, B.A.)
  • Didier Turcios (Statistics, M.S.)
  • Blume Trebus (Biological Sciences, B.S.)
  • Kaylah Wilson (Zoology, B.S.)
  • Cameron Womack (Biological Sciences, B.S.)