Skip to main content
Faculty and Staff

College Honors Outstanding Teachers and Advisors

NC State gateway at sunset

The College of Sciences honored many of its outstanding teachers and advisors during its inaugural Teaching and Advising Awards Event at Talley Student Union on March 20. 

The event recognized nominees for College of Sciences and university-level teaching and advising awards.

College of Sciences Teaching Awards

LeRoy and Elva Martin Award 
The Martin Award, which is given to assistant professors (either tenure track or professional track), recognizes outstanding contributions to the College of Sciences’ teaching mission. The award was created in 2001 by the late LeRoy Martin Jr., a longtime mathematics professor at NC State, to honor his parents, Elva and LeRoy Martin.

Elisabeth Brown, Mathematics
Claire Gordy, Biological Sciences
Logan Opperman, Statistics
Vladimir Skokov, Physics

University Teaching Awards

Outstanding Teacher Award
The Outstanding Teacher Award recognizes excellence in teaching at all levels. Faculty must be recognized as an Outstanding Teacher before they can be eligible to be nominated for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching or the Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor Award.

Carlos Goller, Biological Sciences
Karl Wegmann, Marine, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences
Jonathan Duggins, Statistics
Thomas Schäfer, Physics
Karen Daniels, Physics
Bevin Maultsby, Mathematics

Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor
This award is supported by the NC State Alumni Association and is coordinated by the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost and the Office for Faculty Excellence. It is one of the most prestigious undergraduate teaching awards at NC State.

Alina Duca, Mathematics
Carla Fröhlich, Physics
John Meitzen, Biological Sciences

Alumni Association Distinguished Graduate Professor Award
The Alumni Association Distinguished Graduate Professorship recognizes outstanding graduate-level teaching, mentoring and service at North Carolina State University. 

Tao Pang, Mathematics

Provost’s Award for Excellence in Teaching
The Provost’s Award for Excellence in Teaching is the most prestigious award for exceptional teaching given to full-time professional track faculty at NC State.. 

Justin Post, Statistics
Keith Heyward, Physics
Miles Engell, Biological Sciences

Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching
The Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching is the most prestigious award for teaching given to NC State tenure track faculty.  

Jackie Hughes-Oliver, Statistics

Advising Awards

Academic advising plays an important role in helping students navigate their degree programs. The College celebrated the achievements of the following faculty and staff, whose advising work had previously been recognized at the university’s Spring 2023 Undergraduate Advising Awards ceremony. 

  • Becky Cody (Biological Sciences) completed the Advisor Development Institute Certificate.
  • Megan Codallo (Biological Sciences) and Natalie Trebilcock (Life Sciences First Year Program) were both nominated for the New Advisor Award.
  • Laura Clarke (Physics) was nominated for the Faculty Advisor Award.
  • Erica Kosal (Life Sciences First Year Program) won the Carrie McLean Award for Advising Administrators.