Skip to main content
Honors and Awards

College Honors Graduating Students for Outstanding Achievements

Five graduating students received awards for their outstanding achievements. 

The five college-level winners of the 2024 Senior Recognition Event
Left to right: Student award recipients Etienne Phillips, Leah Rohde, Andrea Stancescu, Kiran Soma and Chay Beeson.

On May 2, the College of Sciences held the annual Senior Recognition Event to honor graduating students who have made an impact in their departments, the college and their communities. Five students were recognized for their accomplishments in academics, leadership, resilience, research and community engagement.

Kiran Soma and Jamila Simpson

Kiran Soma, a chemistry graduate, won the Yusor Abu-Salha Award for Outstanding Community Engagement for his accomplishments in the realm of service.

Andrea Stancescu and Jamila Simpson

Andrea Stancescu, a statistics graduate, won the award for Outstanding Research, which recognizes a student who has added significantly to the body of knowledge in their research discipline.

Leah Rohde and Jamila Simpson

Leah Rohde, a statistics graduate, won the Outstanding Resilience award for overcoming significant hardship during her time at NC State and persisting through that adversity to achieve at a high level both personally and academically.

Chay Beeson and Jamila Simpson

Chay Beeson, a mathematics graduate, won the award for Outstanding Scholarship for his extraordinary academic engagement. 

Etienne Phillips and Jamila Simpson

Etienne Phillips, a mathematics graduate, won the Outstanding Transfer Student Award in recognition of the significant impact he made during his time at NC State. The award honors a graduating senior who has demonstrated outstanding engagement with the NC State or local community, scholarship or leadership.  

The event also recognized the departmental winners of each award: 

Yusor Abu-Salha Award for Outstanding Community Engagement

  • Amanda Baright, Statistics
  • Ayesha Darekar, Physics
  • Kavin Govindarajan, Mathematics
  • Farah Hossein, Biological Sciences
  • Kiran Soma, Chemistry 

Outstanding Research

  • Katherine Cherry, Marine, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Benjamin Cipriano, Chemistry 
  • Kelsey Hanser, Mathematics
  • Jacqueline Marie MacStudy, Biological Sciences
  • Andrea Stancescu, Statistics
  • Trinity Taylor, Physics

Outstanding Resilience

  • Sami Atassi, Biological Sciences
  • Leah Rohde, Statistics
  • Hannah Sumner, Chemistry 

Outstanding Scholarship

  • Chay Beeson, Mathematics
  • Hunter Camp, Marine, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Ransom Hill, Chemistry 
  • Olive Ann Parker, Biological Sciences
  • Andrea Stancescu, Statistics
  • Natalya Wilson, Physics

Outstanding Transfer Student Award

  • Ava Collier, Statistics 
  • Bridget Dale, Marine, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Felix Oliver, Biological Sciences
  • Etienne Phillips, Mathematics
  • Isaac Sutton, Physics

Also recognized at the event were the graduating College of Sciences Student Ambassadors, Solomon Scholars and Sciences Council students:

College of Sciences Student Ambassadors

  • Hedille Al-Dhalimy, 2023-2024 
  • Amanda Baright 2021-2024
  • Declan Crowe, 2021-2024
  • Jordan Fritz, 2022-2024
  • Haily Hammonds, 2022-2024
  • Victoria Kapps, 2021-2024
  • Alexandra Madej, 2023-2024
  • Jada McKinney, 2022-2024
  • Lenny Thai, 2022-2024
  • Elle Whitlock, 2023-2024

Sciences Council

  • Michael Brown
  • Elizabeth Kolodziey 
  • Oliver Rasey 

Solomon Scholars

  • Michael Brown 
  • Charlie Chun
  • Declan Crowe
  • Dylan Magistrado
  • Anna Willard