Skip to main content
Honors and Awards

2 Sciences Faculty Members Elected as AAAS Fellows

Six North Carolina State University faculty members have been elected as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Jose Alonso, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor of Plant and Microbial Biology, elected for distinguished contributions to the field of plant biology, particularly in using recombineering approaches to understand the molecular circuits plants use to integrate environmental and developmental signals.

David Berube, professor of communication, elected for distinguished contributions to the field of science communication and public engagement, particularly strategic risk communication to different audiences about emerging technologies.

Christine Grant, professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, elected for outstanding contributions to colloids, surfaces, and interfacial phenomena of solid films and surfactants, and for extraordinary support for advancing women and minorities within faculty and students in science and engineering.

David Muddiman, Jacob and Betty Belin Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, elected for distinguished contributions to the field of analytical chemistry, technology and their application to important biological problems that have improved the human experience.

Len Stefanski, Alumni Distinguished Professor of Statistics, elected for service and leadership in science and the statistics profession, for research in measurement error modeling and variable selection, and for successful and effective mentoring.

Qiuyun (Jenny) Xiang, professor of plant and microbial biology, elected for distinguished contributions to the field of systematics and evolution, particularly for using an integrative approach to study the origin and evolution of plant biodiversity in different dimensions and levels.

They are among 502 scientists, engineers and innovators to be honored this year by AAAS, the world s largest scientific society and the publisher of the journal Science.

Each year, the AAAS Council the policymaking body of the society elects members who have shown scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. Fellows are nominated by their peers and undergo an extensive review process.

The six NC State Fellows will be recognized in September at a gathering in Washington, D.C.


This post was originally published in NC State News.