Sciences Faculty and Staff Receive University Honors

Several faculty and staff from the College of Sciences recently received recognition from the university for their outstanding work during 2016-17.

Roger Woodard of the Department of Statistics received the Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor Award. This award is one of the most prestigious undergraduate faculty awards given on campus. Recipients retain that title as long as they are members of the NC State faculty.

Professor of Chemistry Dave Shultz received the Alumni Association Distinguished Graduate Professorship Award, given annually to faculty for outstanding contributions in graduate teaching and mentoring. Schultz is director of graduate programs for the Department of Chemistry.

Robert Smart, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences and director of the Center for Human Health and the Environment, and Alyson Wilson, professor in the Department of Statistics, were among 12 NC State faculty to receive the 2016-2017 Alumni Association Outstanding Research Award. Recipients receive membership in NC State’s Research Leadership Academy for as long as they are at the university.

Recipients of the Outstanding Teacher Award included Marian-Elizabeth Gardner of the Department of Biological Sciences and Justin Post of the Department of Statistics. This award recognizes excellence in teaching at all levels. Recipients of this award become members of the Academy of Outstanding Teachers for as long as they remain NC State faculty.

David Muddiman, Jacob and Betty Belin Distinguished Professor in the Department of Chemistry, received a 2016 Graduate School Outstanding Graduate Faculty Mentor Award. Only one university-wide award is given every two years in the category of Mathematics, Physical Sciences and Engineering in recognition of excellence in mentorship. Selection is based on nominations from graduate students and a record of outstanding mentorship.

Staff members Nate DeGraff, director of marketing and communications for the College of Sciences, and Rhonda Bennett, graduate program coordinator for the Department of Physics, were recognized as the college’s winners of Awards for Excellence, NC State’s highest honor for non-faculty employees. They will be recognized at a university-level awards ceremony in June, where five winners will be selected to receive special recognition at the university level.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.