Skip to main content
Faculty and Staff

Physicist Clarke Receives APS Award for Advanced Laboratory Instruction

NC State gateway at sunset

Laura Clarke, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor in the Department of Physics, is the 2023 recipient of the American Physical Society’s Jonathan F. Reichert and Barbara Wolff-Reichert Award for Excellence in Advanced Laboratory Instruction. 

The award honors outstanding achievement in teaching, sustaining and enhancing an advanced undergraduate laboratory course or courses. Clarke was honored “for leadership and dedicated efforts in developing sustainable laboratory experiences and courses throughout the entire physics curriculum that address the needs of diverse students who are considering careers in both industry and graduate study,” according to APS. 

Laura Clarke

Clarke joined the NC State faculty in 2003. Her educational leadership has focused on the introduction of additional experiential learning to the physics major curriculum and better preparing students graduating with physics bachelor’s degrees for entry into the workplace. Her research focuses on the effects of photothermal heating on polymeric systems, polymer fluids experiencing strong electric fields, and polymer nanocomposites with an eye toward developing processing schemes that mitigate environmental damage or reduce energy consumption.

Earlier in 2022, Clarke won the UNC Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award is the university system’s most prestigious teaching honor. 

Other teaching awards for Clarke include NC State’s Outstanding Teacher Award and the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences LeRoy and Elva Martin Award for Teaching Excellence.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.